Wait, What?
The Sex is Great with Ashley Kelsch
Ep 2 Reconciling My Past
0:00
-17:45

Ep 2 Reconciling My Past

Since I started studying and practicing awareness around my thoughts and mental fitness in general, I’ve learned quite a bit about my thinking and the direction my thoughts tend to go. I thought a skill that I could start to use and apply was one in which I would allow me to practice reframing how I see my past (memories, after all are just thoughts we hold about events in our past) and how I’ve viewed some of the people I was involved with 

This practice, in particular, is not about reframing the events to tell me a better story, but instead, looking back at the people involved and only seeing the good that happened with them. I spoke of this on my podcast last week with Laurel and when I brought it up, I truly believed that the benefit of this work was simple: it would take my mind off the negative- that I would no longer think poorly of the people in my past or carry the burden of what I thought were negative experiences. Truth be told, I’m finding that I’m carrying these stories about my past with me like a large tote- loaded with bricks - I thought if I could start remembering all the good positive times, the reasons I was originally drawn to these people that I could fill my large tote full of fluff, love and sparkles - you know, of all our good times. 

Practicing this work opened a hidden door and behind it, a side of the story that I never knew existed … Their side. By entering, I was able to go deeper into who I was.- Spoiler Alert: turns out I have no-one to blame but myself for my failed relationships. 

 

 

follow // subscribe

www.ashleymkelsch.com

https://www.instagram.com/dressing_room_confessions/

https://www.instagram.com/ashleymkelsch/

SLACK for Modern Renegades 

 

--- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app --- Send in a voice message: https://anchor.fm/modernrenegades/message

0 Comments
Wait, What?
The Sex is Great with Ashley Kelsch
Get ready to navigate the high’s and low’s of modern dating, sex and relationships. Each week I dive into your brain on dating, real life circumstances and how to overcome them. Lose yourself in the moment, not the (hu)man